2017 Shirley Jackson Award Winner

2017 Shirley Jackson Award Winner

Posted: 2018/07/18

We are thrilled to announce the 2017 Shirley Jackson Award for Best Novel has been awarded to The Hole by Hye-young Pyun (Arcade Publishing)!

The Shirley Jackson Literary Awards celebrate the life of the author Shirley Jackson (1916–1965). Announced at Readercon each year, the Shirley Jackson Awards were established for recognizing “outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.” Jackson is remembered for her classic novels such as The Haunting of Hill House and We Have Always Lived in the Castle, as well as her famous short story “The Lottery.” 

In Hye-young Pyun’s novel (translated by Sora Kim-Russell), Oghi has woken from a coma after causing a devastating car accident that took his wife's life and left him paralyzed and badly disfigured. His caretaker is his mother-in-law, a widow grieving the loss of her only child. Oghi is neglected and left alone in his bed. His world shrinks to the room he lies in and his memories of his troubled relationship with his wife, a sensitive, intelligent woman who found all of her life goals thwarted except for one: cultivating the garden in front of their house. But soon Oghi notices his mother-in-law in the abandoned garden, uprooting what his wife had worked so hard to plant and obsessively digging larger and larger holes. When asked, she answers only that she is finishing what her daughter started.

A bestseller in Korea, The Hole is a superbly crafted and deeply unnerving novel about the horrors of isolation and neglect in all of its banal and brutal forms. As Oghi desperately searches for a way to escape, he discovers the difficult truth about his wife and the toll their life together took on her.


About the author:

Hye-young Pyun was born in 1972. Now known as a star of Korean literature, she made her literary debut in Korean in 2000 when she won Seoul Shinmun's annual New Writer's Contest with her short story "Shaking Off Dew." She has gone on to publish four short story collections and five novels. She has received several of Korea's most prestigious literary awards, including the Dong-in Literary Award in 2011, the Yi-sang Literary Award in 2014, and the Hyundae Munhak Award in 2015. She has published short stories in the New Yorker, Harper's Magazine, and Words Without Borders. City of Ash and Red was named Book of the Year when it was published in Poland, and it has been licensed to France, Turkey, China, and Vietnam as well. She lives in Seoul, Korea.


For the full list of winners, visit this link.

The Hole

Misery meets The Vegetarian in this Shirley Jackson Award-winner, named a 2017 Top 10 Thriller to Read This Summer by Time, a psychological thriller about loneliness and the dark truths we try to ...
9781628729917 Paperback
Coming Soon
Review Order
 - Release: 2018/10/30

City of Ash and Red

From the 2017 Shirley Jackson Award winner, a slow-burning psychological thriller and Kafkaesque parable—called “an airtight masterpiece” by the Korea's Wall Street Journal.
9781628727814 Hardback
Coming Soon
Review Order
 - Release: 2018/11/06