2018 Anthony Award Winner

2018 Anthony Award Winner

Posted: 2018/09/20

We are pleased to announce the 2018 Anthony Award for crime fiction—Best First Novel—has been awarded to Hollywood Homicide (Midnight Ink) by Kellye Garrett!


The award was announced on Saturday, September 8 at Bouchercon 2018—the World Mystery Convention held in St. Petersburg, Florida. The Anthony Award is one of the most prestigious awards in the crime fiction genre. In addition to the Anthony Award, Garrett previously won the Agatha, Lefty, and IPPY awards for Best First Novel.


In Hollywood Homicide, actress Dayna Anderson has a deadly new role: Homicide Detective. Dayna Anderson doesn't set out to solve a murder. All the semi-famous, mega-broke actress wants is to help her parents keep their house. So after witnessing a deadly hit-and-run, she pursues the fifteen grand reward. But Dayna soon finds herself doing a full-on investigation, wanting more than just money—she wants justice for the victim. She chases down leads at paparazzi hot spots, celeb homes, and movie premieres, loving every second of it—until someone tries to kill her. And there are no second takes in real life.


About the author:

Kellye Garrett (East Orange, NJ) spent eight years working in Hollywood, including a stint writing for Cold Case. A former magazine editor, she holds a BS in magazine writing from Florida A&M and an MFA in screenwriting from USC’s famed film school. She now works for a leading media company and brainstorms ways to commit murder for her novels.

You can find Kellye online at and follow her on Twitter (@kellyekell) and Facebook (@kellyegarrettauthor).


Congratulations, Kellye!

Hollywood Homicide

Winner of the 2018 Anthony Award for Best First Novel Winner of the 2017 Agatha Award for Best First Novel Also a Lefty Award Winner and a Barry Award-Nominated Title The Surprise Hit of the ...
9780738752617 Paperback
Review Order