Thomas Allen & Son is Canada’s leading independent distributor of books, stationery and calendars

1-800-387-4333  

Furia

Furia
9781616209919
Product ID:  73991
$23.95
Hardback
Available
Order Qty:
 
 
Review Order
 

Available
2020/09/15
Algonquin Books

Limited ***

5.5 X 8.3 in
368 pg


YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Coming of Age
YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Contemporary
YOUNG ADULT FICTION / People & Places / Caribbean & Latin America

Description

A powerful, #ownvoices contemporary YA for fans of The Poet X and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter set in Argentina, about a rising soccer star who must put everything on the line—even her blooming love story—to follow her dreams.

Reviews

One of BuzzFeed's Must-Read YA Books of 2020

"An engrossing #OwnVoices novel."
PopSugar

"In this stirring novel by Argentine American author Méndez, passion for sports and personal growth intersect in Camila’s powerful, feminist first-person narrative about her experiences as an ambitious athlete, a teenager deeply in love, the daughter of an abusive father at the point of taking charge of her own life, and a young woman finding her voice in a deeply sexist, patriarchal society . . . A riveting coming-of-age story.”
Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"[A] high-energy #OwnVoices novel . . . Written in a relatable first-person perspective."
Booklist

"With a mix of Spanish words, vivid dialogue, and rich description, Mendez paints a realistic image of a young woman battling to become herself against the odds . . . A powerful and realistic novel.”
School Library Journal

“In FuriaSaied Méndez captures both the breathless beauty of fútbol and the depth of its political power. Sports intersect with gender, class, race, and identities around the world, and there’s still so much ground to be covered in telling the stories that live at these intersections. This novel is a thoughtful, vibrant addition. Camila shows readers that they can have it all, even if it’s not exactly as they planned it. She insists girls have every right to dream, to want, to live, and it is a pleasure to watch this character do all three things with love and fury in equal measure.”
Chicago Review of Books

“A feminist story of pursuing your dreams . . . An engrossing story about using your talent and pursuing your goals with messages about gender equality and the complexities of love. Highly recommend for people who enjoy powerful #ownvoices stories.” 
YA Books Central


Author Bio

Yamile (sha-MEE-lay) Saied Méndez is a fútbol-obsessed Argentine American who loves meteor showers, summer, astrology, and pizza. She lives in Utah with her Puerto Rican husband and their five kids, two adorable dogs, and one majestic cat. An inaugural Walter Dean Myers Grant recipient, she’s a graduate of Voices of Our Nations (VONA) and the MFA program in Writing for Children and Young Adults at Vermont College of Fine Arts. Méndez is also part of Las Musas, the first collective of women and nonbinary Latinx middle grade and young adult authors. Furia is her first novel for young adult readers.